Banned service provider members

Setting a service provider member to Banned, rather than removing them from your account, allows you to keep track if they try to sign in at any of your locations, and prevent other users from setting them up in your system again.

If a banned member attempts to sign in at any location in your account, they will be told they cannot be found, a record will be created in your People Presence report, and notifications can be sent to relevant people.

Banning service provider members

You can change a member’s status to Banned three ways, manually in their profile, in bulk via a run action, or in bulk via a CSV import.

For all methods, go to the Members list:

  1. Go to Tools > Service Provider Manager.
  2. Select Members from the left-hand menu.

Ban a member manually

For when you only need to change the status of one member:

  1. Search for the member in the search field.
  2. Click View next to their name.
  3. Set the Status of Account to Banned.
  4. Enter the reason for banning.

    2020-04-06_8-11-13.png
  5. Click Save & Exit.

Ban multiple members by Run Action

To change one or more members’ status:

  1. Select the members you want to edit using the checkboxes on the right of the list.

    2020-04-06_8-17-01.png
    Use the filters at the top of the page to narrow down the list of members you want to edit.
  2. Click on the Run an Action menu at the bottom of the page.
  3. Select Change Status To.

    2020-04-06_8-18-01.png
  4. Select the Banned option.
  5. Click Run Action.

    2020-04-06_8-16-29.png
  6. Enter a reason in the Status Note.
  7. Click Continue.

    2020-04-06_8-43-41.png

Ban multiple members by CSV import

To change multiple members' status at once:

  1. Use the filters at the top of the page to view only members you want to edit.
  2. Click on Export Members.

    2020-04-06_8-24-14.png
  3. Click Export based on Current Filters.
  4. Open the CSV file.
  5. Edit the Status column, for the members you want to change, to Banned.

    2020-04-06_8-27-14.png
  6. Save the CSV file.
  7. In the Members list, click Update Members.

    2020-04-06_9-11-31.png
  8. Click Import List from a CSV File.
  9. Click Select CSV File, select the saved file from your computer and click Open.
  10. Click Upload CSV File.
  11. Set the Unique Identifier to Status ID.

    Update-SP-Members.png

  12. Click Submit for Validation, then click Confirm & Submit.

Banned service provider members attempting to sign in

There are two ways for members to attempt to sign in when banned, using the Sign In/Out Manager and/or the Kiosk.

Sign In/Out Manager

Banned members will not appear in the list of Service Providers that can sign in at any location.

2020-04-06_9-13-08.png

You can still find them if needed by searching using the People Search.
2020-04-06_9-14-07.png

Sign In/Out Kiosk

If a banned member attempts to sign in at the Kiosk they will be told they can’t be found. The member will not be told they have been banned from the system, allowing specified people in your organization to be informed so that they can manage the member according to your policies and procedures.

2020-04-06_8-59-45.png

A record will be added to your People Presence report of the attempted sign in and you can send notifications or webhooks based on this using the Triggers add-on. See below for more details on these.

Reporting on Banned Activity

There are two reports you can run for banned activity; reporting on your list of banned members and reporting on any banned members attempting to sign in at your locations.

List of Banned Members

From your Members list, you can view only your banned members by applying the status filter.

  1. Go to Tools > Service Provider Manager.
  2. Select Members from the left-hand menu.
  3. Set the Status filter to Banned.
  4. Click Search.

2020-04-06_8-45-08.png

You will have a list of all of your banned members.

Attempted Sign Ins

In your People Presence report, you can view all times that banned members attempted to sign in at one of your locations.

  1. Go to Reporting > People Presence.
  2. Set the Data Source to Service Providers.
  3. Set your Report Period.
  4. Choose the location you want to report on (or select All Locations).
  5. Click View Report.

    2020-04-06_9-01-27.png
  6. Click Add a Custom Filter.
  7. Select Access Denied Reason.
  8. Select Status is Banned.
  9. Click Save Filter.

    2020-04-06_9-03-57.png

The report results will display all members with a banned status that attempted to sign in. You can narrow this down to specific people or organizations by adding a Filter by Search Query.

2020-04-06_9-04-31.png

Notifications Based on Attempted Sign In

When a person is denied sign-in access by WhosOnLocation automatically, e.g. they are banned, their token has expired, or they are not within their valid dates, you can set up notifications or webhooks to send to specified people or addresses.

This is done using the Triggers add-on. If you have not yet set up this add-on it will need to be activated by your Account Owner. Click here for instructions on doing so.

To set up notifications or webhooks, once the triggers add-on and user roles have been enabled:

  1. Go to Tools > Locations.
  2. Click View next to your location.
  3. Select Triggers from the left-hand menu.
  4. Click Create a New Trigger.

    2020-04-06_8-51-16.png
  5. Enter the Trigger Name.
  6. Set the Status to Active.
  7. Set the Trigger Event to Service Provider Denied Access.

    2020-04-06_8-52-00.png
  8. Click Next.
  9. Under the ALL section click Create a New Rule.
  10. Select Service Provider – Access Denied Reason > is the following > Status is Banned.

    2020-04-06_8-52-22.png
  11. Click Next.
  12. Click Create a New Action.
    Please Note: You can add as many actions as you like to one trigger.
  13. Select the type of notification or webhook you want to send.
  14. Fill in the details of the notification or webhook. Click here for more details.
    Quick Tip! Use the placeholders to insert dynamic information based on the person, e.g. their name and organization.

    2020-04-06_8-55-16.png
  15. Add any further actions.
  16. Click Save & Close.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request