About Photo Capture

Improve Site Security with Photo Capture

When a visitor, service provider (contractor or supplier), or employee signs into your location (s) capture their photo. Photo capture offers a wide range of benefits including:

Sign In/Out Managers (receptionists and security guards) can capture the photo of as they sign in that person. In addition people self-signing in using a visitor or employee kiosk can also have their photo captured as part of the kiosk sign-in process.

What you need to know about Photo Capture

The photo is captured using either:

  • A web-camera installed on the Sign In/Out Manager's (receptionist or security guard) PC
  • A web-camera installed on a kiosk
  • The built-in camera that comes with your kiosk PC
Note: Photo Capture is supported on Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 9+, and Safari on MAC, and iPad via our WolKiosk app in the Apple App Store.Both Internet Explorer, Safari and older versions of Firefox require Adobe Flash to be installed on the device being used to capture the photo (receptionist PC and/or kiosk). Chrome does not require Adobe Flash.

Photo Capture Frequency

You must choose a Photo Capture Frequency rate when activating Photo Capture at a location. Photo Capture Frequency means how often a photo of a returning visitor or contractor or employee is retaken. For example: A visitor signs in today, has their photo captured. They sign out. They return in 2 days. Do you want to capture a new photo of the returning visitor or do you simply want to use the photo initially captured 2 days earlier?

You can setup a Photo Capture Frequency rate to be one of the following:

  • Every Visit
  • Every 30 Days
  • Every 90 Days (this is the default setting)
  • Every 180 Days
  • Every 365 Days 

Photo Retention Policy

You must choose a Photo Retention Policy rate. Photo's form part of what is referred to as "Personally Identifiable Information (PII)". 

We only store Photos for a specified number of days on our servers. The minimum is 7 days and the maximum is 730 days (2 years), after which they are removed permanently. You can choose a Photo Retention Policy rate to be one of the following:

  1. 7 days
  2. 30 Days
  3. 90 Days
  4. 180 Days
  5. 365 Days (1 year)
  6. 730 Days (2 years)

Photos are removed within 24 hours of the retention date expiring. To clarify; if a photo is captured on 1st January and your retention policy is set to 180 days the photo of the visitor is deleted from all servers by midnight on the 181st day of the year – this being June 30th.

Photo Lookup Options

Once a photo is captured it is available for viewing until the Photo Retention period passes, then it is removed as per the above policy. Photos can be viewed as follows:

  1. Through the reporting tools for audit and security purposes. Just select a visitor by name to view their photo.
  2. By any Sign In/Out Manager user who selects 'Sign Out' to view a list of people onsite. They can select that person's name and their photo will display.

Photo Retake and Editing Options

It is possible for both Sign In/Out Manager's to retake a person's photo if they are not happy with the previous one. It is also possible for a Report user to replace the captured photo with an updated one.

Whilst not available today - we are adding Logs to capture who changes a photo and when if 'edit' is used by a user.

Next we look at how to activate Photo Capture for Reception (Sign In/Out Manager).

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request