Configure WolMobile general settings

Learn how to configure the WolMobile general settings for your location. Allow employees and contractors to sign in or out, choose how to report on location data, or make 'Follow Me' mandatory. You need the Administrator user role to access these settings. 

About WolMobile general settings

In the General Settings tab, configure which user types (employees and contractors) can use WolMobile to sign themselves in and out of the location. Choose if you'd like to report on users' geolocation data and enforce a rule that continues to track the user throughout a location after they have signed in to it.

Location tracking

WolMobile utilizes the location services available to the user's smartphone at any given time. Location services use a combination of cellular, WiFi, and GPS to determine the user's location. If they are not within a clear line of sight to GPS satellites, their device can identify their location using crowd-sourced WiFi and cell tower locations. WhosOnLocation takes no responsibility for the accuracy of a WolMobile user or GPS device.

Learn more about how location tracking in WolMobile works.

Allow sign in/out

Employees and contractors can use WolMobile to quickly and easily sign in and out of a location. This data is recorded in WhosOnLocation, providing you with accurate records of who is on-site at any given time. If sign in/out is not enabled, you can't set up auto sign in/out.

If you want users to sign in to this location using WolMobile, set the Allow Sign In/Out status to Yes.

  1. Go to Locations, then select the location from the drop-down list.
  2. Select WolMobile.
  3. In the General Settings tab, under Employees, select Yes or No.
  4. Under Contractors, select Yes or No.

    WolMobile-Allow-Sign-In.png
  5. Click Save.

Geolocation reporting

Choose what geolocation data you'd like to include in your People Presence report, Geolocation report, and dashboards:

  • All location data – reports include all location data that is sent either automatically or manually by the user
  • SOS only – location data is only reported when a user sends an SOS
  • No location data –  no location data in WhosOnLocation reports

To update your geolocation reporting settings:

  1. Under Data to include in geolocation report, choose your reporting setting:  All location data, SOS only, No location data

    WolMobile-location-reporting.png
  2. Click Save.

Make 'Follow Me' mandatory

Follow me is a feature of WolMobile that tracks the location of employees and/or contractors while they’re signed in for work. It’s designed to monitor the safety of those working at risk, on larger sites, or in remote locations.

Enabling this option will make location tracking mandatory for your WolMobile users while they are signed in. Using 'Follow Me' will increase battery usage, and users will not be able to disable it.

Select All location data in your geolocation reporting to access the Follow Me settings. 

To set the Make 'Follow Me' Mandatory status:

  1. Under Employees, select Yes or No.
  2. Under Contractors, select Yes or No.

    WolMobile-follow-me.png
  3. Click Save.

If 'Follow Me' is not mandatory, WolMobile can still send updates of where the WolMobile user is while on-site, but the user will have to enable this on their mobile device manually.

Next step: If you've allowed your employees or contractors to sign in or out, set up auto sign in so WolMobile users will be automatically signed in when they arrive on-site.