Employee database options
MRI OnLocation requires you to maintain a list of employees against each location set up in your account. Employees can pre-register visitors, manage their own presence or attendance on-site, and, if granted a user role, run reports, manage visitors, or have access to Administrator functions.
We currently offer two ways to maintain your user database:
- Manual user management (the default)
- Active Directory syncing
Manual user management
Manual is the default with every new account. Administrators can add, edit, and remove employees from the account database manually.
There is no setting that turns the manual option on – all accounts are manual by default until the Active Directory option is activated and set up.
Active Directory and SyncPortal
Our Active Directory script allows your employee database to be maintained automatically. Your unique script will export selected users from your Active Directory to your OnLocation account using LDAP via the Microsoft csvde.exe utility in CSV text format and securely uploads it to our server. The script is written in the PowerShell language and is fully auditable by the customer and will work seamlessly with a web proxy if you use one.
To learn more about Active Directory, please have a look at our Helpdesk article Sync Portal.
You must be the Account Owner or have the IT Support user role assigned to set up an Active Directory Sync.
Set up your employees
Every employee is added to the location they normally work from. If an employee visits multiple locations and hosts visitors at multiple locations, make them a global roamer.
OnLocation will only allow an email address to be registered once. Employees sharing an email address is not permitted. This logic forms a key part of the application security. Every employee must have a unique email address.
To get started adding employees manually:
- Add an employee
- Add employees by CSV import
- Set up global roaming for employees
- Manage employee departments
- Manage and assign employee role types
Give an employee access to OnLocation
Employees will only have access to OnLocation if an Administrator grants them permission. If they do not have any user roles assigned, they will only be able to access their own profile, add saved visitors, and pre-register visitors.
If you want your employees to be able to access other areas of OnLocation, e.g. a receptionist to have access to sign people in and out, you will need to assign them a role. Most user roles can be either global or limited by location.